History of ASNA
Good Sports

The Alice Springs Netball Association was formed in 1971. A dedicated committee – Jerry Baldock, Pat Gallagher and Margaret Rudwick got a four-team competition up and running at the rear of the Youth Centre on Stott Terrace. The original teams were DCA, Hells Angels, Federal and a high school team. In 1972 a second division was added – B Grade.

Over the years netball was to have a variety of homes – the Youth Centre, Alice Springs High School and Traeger Park (tennis courts).

It was in 1977 that the netball association found a permanent home at Ross Park on Undoolya Road. Initially there were four courts and a silver caravan, which doubled as the clubhouse and canteen.

In 1983 netball established its strength with extensive improvements to the facilities. An extra 2 courts were laid and plans made for a permanent clubhouse. With the assistance of a $100,000 grant from the NT Government the clubhouse we use today was officially opened by the Honourable Mr Roger Vale, MLA on December 2nd, 1992.

In the year 2000 Ross Park was renamed the Pat Gallagher Netball Centre in honour of the founding President, Pat Gallagher, who held the position from 1971 to 1999.

To date ASNA has played host to a number of top level competitions:-

1978 - New Zealand played in a competition in Alice Springs
1980 - Australian Club Championships
1984 - Australian Under 17 Championships
1984 - NT Championships
1988 - Australian Under 19 Championships
1991 - Australian Under 17 Championships
2002 - NT Championships

In the years that followed netball went from strength to strength.

We now register approximately 950 members each year ranging in age from as young as 6 to 60 plus.

Many Alice Springs players have represented their town at Territory level and some of these have gone on to represent at National Level.

Netball is a member of the NT Institute of Sport with a number of Alice Springs players participating in the program.

In 2005 a past Alice Springs player, Karyn Bailey, took to the court in the national CBT competition with the Queensland Firebirds.

1981 NT Championships played in Alice Springs

Alice Springs Open Team was:
Anne Jaggard
Sally Bennett (now Preece)
Helen Krebs
Liz Dashwood
Joanne Harris
Anne Sharpe
Vicki Wright
Dianne Dempsey
Sue Jones
Coral Brown (now Allan)

1980 NT Championships played in Darwin

Alice Springs Open Team was:
Anne Jaggard (Captain/Coach)
Liz Dashwood (Vice Captain)
Joanne Harris
Sally Bennett (now Preece)
Jerry Baldock
Helen Krebs
Jud Thomas
Leonie Ellis
Coral Brown (now Allan)

June 1979 NT Championships played in Alice Springs

Alice Springs Open Team was: Liz Dashwood (Captain)
Sharon Hentschke (now Thom)
Anne Jaggard
Joanne Harris
Jerry Baldock
Debbie Grant
Linda Ogsten
Kate Scott
Jo Trindle (nee Shaw)
Coral Brown (now Allan)

Coach: Allan Perrin

This team played against the New Zealand Under 21 team that was visiting the NT at the time.

Thanks to our Sponsors

  • Bendigo Bank
  • Club Eastside
  • Get Physical
  • KFC
  • NT Link
  • Redback Productions
  • Scope Building
  • Yeperenye
  • Trophy Central